Sheridan College Recognizes 2018 All-Wyoming Academic Team


Contact: Wendy Smith, Director of Marketing and Public Information (307) 675-0412,

Claire Barnes, Writer/Editor (307) 675-0416,

The Northern Wyoming Community College District and Sheridan College is pleased to announce the selection of students Rosborg Halldordottir, Kaycen Townsend, and Celsey Martin as the 2018 All-Wyoming Academic Team members representing Sheridan College.

Selection for the team is based on an application process and recognizes high achieving two-year college students that demonstrate academic excellence and intellectual rigor combined with leadership and service that extends beyond the classroom, according to the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society website.

Halldordottir is a music major with a 4.0 GPA. She is a volleyball athlete and works on campus at the library and in the tutoring center, in addition to volunteering in the community. Instructors consider her an exemplary member of their music community.

“Rosborg makes a difference; whether it’s through tutoring or her leadership with other students in the music program, she helps others succeed,” said Katrina Brown, Director of Library Services.

Townsend is a health sciences major who plans to become a nurse. She is also a volleyball athlete and holds a 4.0 GPA. She is president of the National Society of Leadership and Success and also volunteers with Big Brothers/Big Sisters and other organizations in the community.

“Kaycen puts helping others first.  Her dedication has made her a leader on campus and in the community,” said John Sutton, Tutoring and Writing Center Coordinator and Phi Theta Kappa Advisor.

Martin is a dual machine tool and welding technology major with a 3.7 GPA. Instructors cite her leadership for serving as a mentor to women in the technical programs and organizing teams for a SkillsUSA competition. She plans to become a welding inspector after graduation.

“Celsey has a determination to work hard, think in creative ways and succeed.  She is a role model to her fellow students and a leader who helps others reach their potential,” Sutton said.

All student representatives of the All-Wyoming Academic Team will be considered for the national 2018 Coca-Cola New Century Scholar Award. One recipient from each state will be chosen for the award in early March. Recipients receive a $2,000 scholarship and are honored at a national conference in New Orleans. The scholarship program is sponsored by The Coca-Cola Foundation, the Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation, Phi Theta Kappa and the American Association of Community Colleges.