Two NWCCD instructors honored by NISOD


Contact: Wendy Smith (307) 674-6446 ext. 2801/Email wsmith

Two NWCCD instructors honored by NISOD

Two Northern Wyoming Community College District instructors were named recipients of the Teaching Excellence awards from the National Institute for Staff and Organizational Development (NISOD).

Sheridan College science instructor Dr. Rachel Kristiansen and Gillette College diesel instructor Travis Grubb were selected for the award after being nominated by the Sheridan and Gillette Colleges united Faculty Senate.

Rachel Kristiansen - SCDr. Kristiansen, a Sheridan native, is a full-time faculty member in the SC Social Science department. She received her Ph.D. in experimental psychology from the University of Southern Mississippi in 2011. During her graduate career, Dr. Kristiansen studied various species of whales and dolphins in the Gulf of Mexico, Caribbean, Atlantic Ocean and Pacific Ocean.

Dr. Kristiansen started at Sheridan College in 2010.

“Rachel Kristiansen is the kind of teacher that helps you draw out your passion for learning by bringing her own passion to the table,” said Dr. Mercedes Aquirre Batty, SC dean of arts, humanities and social sciences. “Offering a fresh perspective on psychology, she delivers a plethora of knowledge to fresh minds and prompts them to explore options in the field as well. Her personality and approachable manner make her one of the favorites here on Sheridan campus.”

Grubb has taught at Gillette College for eight years.

“Travis is an outstanding teacher,” said Jed Jensen, Dean of Technical Career Education for the NWCCD. “He has made immense contributions to the technical programs at Gillette College through his helpful demeanor as an educator, his enthusiasm and vast skill and knowledge.”

Travis Grubb - GCBoth NWCCD recipients plan to attend the national NISOD conference this summer, where the organization distributes medallions acknowledging the winners’ contributions to educational excellence. Their names appear in the Excellence Awards Booklet and selected recipients are featured in the annual Excellence Awards DVD.


Comments are closed.