Montana-Wyoming Academic Challenge


On June 23, 2011, the inaugural Montana-Wyoming Academic Challenge will take place at Sheridan College in Sheridan, Wyoming between six-player high school all-star teams from each state. The competition will feature up to 300 total questions spread over five rounds in a buzzer system format. The first team to answer a majority of the questions will take the traveling trophy. Individual all stars will receive medals for either first or second, and the winning team members will earn one-year tuition-free scholarships to Sheridan College.

The competition will feature questions from every academic area. Each round of competition will consist of 60 oral questions. Five rounds will potentially be played. When a team reaches 151 correct answers it will be declared the winner. Each team will compete with four members at a time. Substitutions will be allowed during the rounds.

Montana team members will include Erik Anderson (Missoula), Laura Vonessen (Missoula), Mary Brooks (Frenchtown), Brian Andersen (Billings), Dan Beck (Billings), and Jeremy Chevalier (Billings). Montana will be coached by Rich McFate of Billings Skyview High School.

Wyoming team members will be Geoff Carr (Cheyenne), Crystal Armstrong (Cheyenne), Dylan Crouse (Basin), Felix Weese (Greybull), Rolf Schuster (Big Horn), and Willie Barge (Jackson). Wyoming will be coached by Tim Maze of Tongue River High School. Each state selected its team through either a playoff system or a testing process.

State director of the Wyoming Academic Challenge, John Tate, is serving as the meet coordinator. Tate and McFate developed the concept of an interstate competition in order to promote academic competition in the region. “This first competition should be outstanding. The quality of the students is top-notch,” said Tate. “We hope this border rivalry will grow in popularity.”

The competition will be held in the CTEL room of the Whitney Building on the Sheridan College campus. Round 1 will begin at 10:00 a.m., followed by rounds at 10:50 and 12:45 p.m. Additional rounds will be played as needed to reach the 151 correct answers. The awards ceremony will follow the completion of the match. The public is invited to attend free of charge.


Comments are closed.